Timeline of the O-Train
October 2000 - work commences on upgrading the following lines in preparation for introduction of light rail operation:
Ellwood subdivision between mile 0.00 and mile 4.99- tie replacement as needed along the entire route.
Prescott subdivision between mile 4.90 and mile 8.17
November 2000 - work commences on rebuilding the bridge over the Sawmill Creek. Steel piles are put to replace the wooden ones.
November 24, 2000 - The Canadian Transportation Agency issues a certificate of fitness to Capital Rail in Decision No. 745-R-2000 which permits the construction and improvements of a line to operate commuter services in Ontario and Quebec on the two sections of line above and also on the Walkley Line between the junction with the Ellwood subdivision and the CP locomotive shop in Walkley Yard.
December, 2000 - extensions to the CP Walkley shop are completed. This includes:
- extension of both the locomotive and car shop with a tent to allow for the longer trains.January 8, 2001 - work starts on the stations at:
- connecting a storage track for the third train south of the shops to the east end approach track.
- security fencing around the yards.
- Carling ( for widening of rock cuts and ditchwork, as well as an elevator shaft).January 18, 2001 - The three Talent BR643 railcars arrive at Shed #48,at the Logistical Terminal in Port of Montreal, at 08:00 on the vessel "Federal Trader".
- Greenboro (to install pedestrian overbridge from Transitway Station to trackside).
February 4, 2001 - The Talent BR643 railcars arrive in Ottawa early morning having been moved from Montreal by CN. Ottawa Central RS-18u's 1838, 1842 and 1865 forwarded the equipment to the shop in Walkley Yard.
April 12 2001 - The Capital Railway comes into existence, owned by the City of Ottawa, it leases the CPR Ellwood subdivision and the North Prescott spur, as well as part of Walkley Yard.
October 15, 2001 - Service starts between Greenboro and Bayview.